Breakfast To Go: Berry Smoothie

berrysmoothietitle

I love my stick blender…no huge machine to take up space and no hard-to-wash, oddly-shaped carafe to bog down my morning routine.

I also love whey protein powder.  One scoop contains over 20 grams of easily-digestible protein and can be used for all kinds of Real Food applications including quick, easy, delicious smoothies.  Our favorite brands are Jay Robb and Central Market whey protein powders because they are sweetened with stevia as opposed to creepy artificial sweeteners and they taste SO good!

I make a smoothie almost every morning for Hubby that he can drink on his way to work and this is one of my go-to recipes.  It’s also perfect for a quick lunch or afternoon snack for me or the kids.  It couldn’t be easier!

First, I fill the cup that came with my stick blender to about the 8 oz. mark with raw milk.  Then I add everything else in no particular order, submerge the blender and whip that baby into shape.

Here’s the recipe:

8 oz. raw milk (I add a little more if the smoothie is too thick)
1 scoop vanilla whey protein powder
About ½ – ¾ cup frozen mixed berries
About ¼ cup plain, full-fat yogurt (optional – this gives it a bit of a cream cheese flavor)

Pour that goodness into a cup, add a straw and it’s good to go!

Leave a Reply

