Venison Pot Roast

venisonroasttitle

I am very blessed to have wild game in my freezer almost year-round.  It is high-quality, lean meat from animals that ate their natural diet not far from where I live and I feel like we’re eating just a little slice of Texas…you know, living off the land and all that.  It also cuts WAY down on the amount of grocery money I spend on meat, and that’s definitely a good thing.

As a homeschooling mom, my slow cooker is my best friend so it’s just perfect that the best way to cook wild game is slow and low.

Here is my favorite way to cook deer.  I was not a fan of venison until I had it like this and my family loves it, too.  It tastes very beefy, similar to buffalo if you’ve ever had that.  Don’t be shy about the bacon grease — deer is very lean so this really needs some fat.  You can use lard or olive oil if you don’t have bacon grease but I don’t know why anyone would be without it. 🙂

deerroast

Before pouring in the stock. Isn’t it pretty?

Here’s the recipe:

Deer meat, at least 2 pounds, any cut, fresh or thawed
About 4 tablespoons bacon grease
1-2 whole onions, sliced
Beef or chicken stock, preferably homemade
Fresh rosemary and thyme
Sea salt and cracked black pepper
Optional:  fresh mushrooms, carrots, quartered potatoes, bacon slices…whatever you have on hand

Make a “bed” of onions in the bottom of the slow cooker.  I’ve been told that the onions take the “gamey-ness” out of the venison so they’re important.  Layer in the meat, bacon grease, more onions, herbs and anything else you want to add.  Salt and pepper well and pour stock over everything until the meat is almost completely covered.  Set the temperature to LOW and cook for at least 8 hours.

I like to serve a great big salad and some fresh fruit with this. It’s great in the summer because I don’t have to heat up the whole kitchen and wonderful in the winter because it is so rich and earthy. If you don’t have any venison, this recipe could easily be used for beef or any other dark meat, too.

One thought on “Venison Pot Roast

  1. I can’t wait to try this! Thank you for posting. I just moved to Wyoming (just…. means 4 years ago) and don’t know how to cook venison because it seems so finicky with getting dry or tasting off. I will be trying this recipe within the next week because we have last year’s deer to use up (and getting another one this year) thank you thank you thank you! This looks delicious!!!!

Leave a Reply

